Java Ideas

Music: A is for. . . (pt. 1)

on August 23, 2010

Alan Jackson.

One of the first country musicians I remember hearing; quite possibly the first.  I’m not a huge fan of his gospel sound, and tend to lean toward the faster songs and fuller sounding slow songs.  I think what first attracted me to him was the good dance beat, and easy to learn lyrics (even if I didn’t always understand them).  Jackson is one of those singers who I believe bridges old country with new.  He has a distinctive sound and focuses on the lyrics.  The music is mainly the sounds of different guitars (acoustic and steel), as well as drums.  While he has done multiple covers and duets, he does have plenty of songs which are exclusively his.  He his written many of his songs.

My favorites songs are “1976“, “Buicks to the Moon“, “Chasin’ That Neon Rainbow“, “Chattahoochee“, “Country Boy“, “Don’t Rock the Jukebox“, “Drive (For Daddy Gene)“,  “First Love“, “Gone Country“, “Good Time“, “I Don’t Even Know Your Name“, “If it Ain’t One Thing (It’s You)“, “I Still Like Bologna“, “It’s Alright to be a Redneck“, “It’s Five o’ Clock Somewhere“, “Little Bitty“, “Little Man“, “Livin’ on Love“, “Margaritaville“, “Mercury Blues“, “Murder on Music Row“, “Pop a Top“, “Right on the Money“, “Santa’s Gonna Come in a Pickup Truck“, “She Likes it Too“, “She’s Got the Rhythm (And I Got the Blues)“, “Small Town Southern Man“, “Summertime Blues“, “Tall Tall Trees“, “That’d be Alright“, “The Talkin’ Song Repair Blues“, “Up to My Ears in Tears“, “USA Today“, “Where I Come From“, “Who’s Cheatin’ Who“.

Albums I own are A Lot About Livin’ a Little Bit ’bout Love, Who I Am, Don’t Rock the Jukebox, What I Do, Precious Memories, Like Red on a Rose, Good Time.

Leave a Reply

Verso

The Artwork of Amanda Leigh Coe

Booking Through Thursday

A weekly meme about (mostly) books and reading.

Jo In the Kitchen

Groovin' in the kitchen, dancin' in Missoula.

Life Tastes Like Food

A blog about food, life, and all of the wonderful happenings in between

