Java Ideas

A Mess of a Tigers Update (Hanta Yo)

on August 25, 2010

One of these days you will get a post from me about a game I actually got a chance to watch.  Today was supposed to be that day, but I totally forgot it was an afternoon game until 2 outs left in the 9th.

I’m going to do something a little different.  I’m going to include some links from last night’s game, and some comments from today’s extra innings.  However, I’m going to skip the pregame post for today.

Yesterday’s game:
Tigers 9, Royals 1
*MLB.com’s Wrap

Today’s game:
*The funny thing about sports are games/series like this one: two blow out games and the last one goes to extra innings.
*I agree that Aviles was out.  However, I do question why it seems that so many umps want to make the call themselves.  Is it a pride thing?  Or do they honestly think they know without a doubt what the correct call is?
*Oh how I hate “bloop singles”.  Three guys going after the ball and no one can get to it.  Oh well, it wasn’t the worst I’ve ever seen.  At least everyone was aware of where the ball was and where each other were.  At least there are two outs, and it’s only the top of the 10th.
*The moments I’m glad I’m not a baseball catcher are many and close together.  One such is what just happened: the ball takes a weird bounce (it was ruled a wild pitch) and goes to the backstop.
*I’m a little nervous that with two outs and two on, Figaro has gone 2-0 on Pena.  Thanks to a foul, it’s now 2-1.
*Figaro just did what I wish more pitchers would do: he didn’t have an eloquent finish to his pitch, so when Pena hit the ball back up the center, Figaro was able to catch it and throw it to Cabrera for the final out of the inning.  If it had been up to Rhymes to field that ball, Pena would have been safe most likely.
*Maybe my hearing is deceiving me, but it sounded like a fan was saying “Let’s go Dodgers”.  Okay, it was my hearing, because I heard the same man say, “Let’s go Tigers”.
*The rule about foul balls not counting as strikes after the second strike is one I like when the Tigers are batting and dislike when anyone else is batting.
*Two outs, Rhymes on second, and Humber is intentionally walking Cabrera.  The stadium started booing (can you tell they’re in Detroit?)  Here’s to hoping Boesch does something, because to win all the Tigers need is for Rhymes to come home.
*Boesch’s at bat in the 10th: 1 ball.  Flyout to Maier.  On to the 11th.
*Barehanded plays, when successful, are a work of art; and seem to hold an “old school” feeling of backyard ball.
*1 out, 2 on, 3-3 in the bottom of the 11th.  The question is: What is G-Money (Laird) going to do about it?  The answer is: Hit in to a double play.  On to the 12th.
*I just saw my first Red Wings commercial of the season :).
*Raburn ran out to third base foul territory (from left field) to catch a ball.  Fans in the area were patting him on the back.  I wonder if he was wondering why people were touching him, or if he was okay with it.
*And a 1 out homerun makes it 4-3 in the top of the 12th.
*And a 1-2-3 inning, ends the game, leaving the Tigers without a sweep.  Oh well, at least they won the series, and they’ve begun to win at home again.  You can’t have them all, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

Verso

The Artwork of Amanda Leigh Coe

Booking Through Thursday

A weekly meme about (mostly) books and reading.

Jo In the Kitchen

Groovin' in the kitchen, dancin' in Missoula.

Life Tastes Like Food

A blog about food, life, and all of the wonderful happenings in between

