Java Ideas

Brothers & Sisters: Season 5, Episode 5 – Call Mom

on October 31, 2010
Tommy Walker (Brothers & Sisters)

Image via Wikipedia

I liked this episode up until the end.  We finally get to see Kevin and Scotty’s new place, and (more or less) find out who Kevin is working for.  I loved Kevin pepping up Nora.  He was too adorable saying “Me!” when Nora asked what she had ever accomplished.  And I’m glad Tommy’s not forgotten (see Spearchucker [M*A*S*H], Eugene [The Big Valley], Chuck [Happy Days], and Adam [Bonanza] to some extent).

I wish with Sarah thinking Luc was cheating, she would have mentioned that once it’s happened (Joe), it’s hard not to expect it to happen again.  I’m glad Luc finally proposed (though I wish Sarah didn’t seem to be contemplating it in the previews).

I’m glad to see Justin moving on, though it’s hard to believe he’d get a date that quick; plus, he had just gotten the courage to buy a shake, why would he accept a date so quickly?

I’m still having a hard time with the Kitty/Jack storyline.  I get that she’s lonely and misses having a man around.  But, there’s an inconsistency which isn’t sitting with me where she seems like she’s moving too fast and can’t decide if she is or not.  If she just went on dates with him without sex, I might feel it a good compromise.

I’ve always liked the relationship between Sarah and Scotty.  I remember them talking about where she’ll find a man and Scotty pointed out he was living in his car when he met Kevin, and when Sarah dreaded her guy was living in his car, Scotty said all the good ones were.

And this is where I falter.  The end was the reason my sister called me at 11:00pm.  The end was the reason I forgot my agreement with a Facebook friend not to post anything B&S related until 11:00PT.  The end was the reason I ranted at work and caused a co-worker to say, “Now I want to go home and watch that episode”.  The end was the reason I went out of my way to search for a spoiler, an explanation for the ending.  I’m trying to think of the last time I was this passionate about a TV show.  All I can come up with was the episode of B&S that ended with a K/S fight (the next episode had them making up with Kevin asking if Scotty had started loving him again, and Scotty saying he never stopped).  But my feelings were closer to those of when I read Leaving Fishers, and wanted to throw the book more than once (I might have actually thrown it).  The line between reality and fiction was blurred for as this felt like more than just my favorite couple being ruined.  It’s hard to explain, but I’m usually the type to trust the writer(s) to know their characters well enough that anything the characters do is within character for them (fanfic writers and changing writers don’t get that respect from me).  Therefore, when a character acts up (aka, does something I dislike), I get mad at the character.  But due to the love and image I have developed for/of Scotty over the past four seasons, I can’t get mad at him.  But more so, I can’t believe Scotty is the type to cheat.  It just doesn’t align with everything we have seen from him.  Which makes me want to blame the writers.  Problem being, I’ve spent four seasons thinking these were the most detail-oriented writers ever.  There was not a detail left unexplaiend.  But between the two, I have to blame the writers, because I simply cannot believe Scotty would cheat on Kevin.  I blamed them last season for mimicking Queer as Folk too much as of late, and this, goes with that.  I loved that they were using Kevin/Scotty to break stereotypes of same-sex couples, and one of those stereotypes that I thought was important of them to break was the question of fidelity.  But I can no longer count on them to do that, so apparently it’s just me now.  But perhaps more than that, the writing surrounding the incident had too many kinks for me.  First of all, why is it every time one of them is ready for a kid, the other isn’t?  Secondly, how did Scotty get through the episode not showing any signs and then when Kevin says a compromise for wanting a kid, Scotty suddenly remembers the affair?  And at the beginning of the episode, he was distraught again over Kevin’s long work hours, which should be translated over to him not getting any as one of the things he misses about seeing his husband.  It worked last time.  It makes him seem smug when he reassured Sarah that Luc wasn’t “getting it” elsewhere.  But more than that: he was so broken when he found out his dad was having an affair, why would he do that to Kevin?  Why would someone who vowed that when he was committed to someone he was faithful, break that?  Why would he be so cool, and be upset with Kevin being a workaholic, only in the end to drop a bomb like that?  I just can’t believe that’s how Scotty is.  And, on top of it all, the cheating storyline is getting real old, real fast.  I used to say B&S was better than a soap opera or Desperate Housewives because everyone wasn’t sleeping with everyone.  However, let’s count the number of affairs (sexual or not): William, Joe, Tommy, Walter, Julia, Kitty.  And the number of non-marital cheating: Justin, Kevin.  And those accused of cheating: Luc.  With that list, was it really necessary to have Scotty cheat?  And the previews are supposed to make you want to tune in next week, but seeing Scotty argue that he felt he owed Kevin honesty and Kevin argue that Scotty owed him fidelity and that Scotty was the one person who was supposed to love him more than anything.  How is that supposed to make me want to watch next week?  Of course I will, because I’m hopelessly addicted, and part of me is hoping that (somehow) things aren’t as bad as they seem.

Leave a Reply

Verso

The Artwork of Amanda Leigh Coe

Booking Through Thursday

A weekly meme about (mostly) books and reading.

Jo In the Kitchen

Groovin' in the kitchen, dancin' in Missoula.

Life Tastes Like Food

A blog about food, life, and all of the wonderful happenings in between

