Java Ideas

Update and a meme

on January 12, 2012

I’m sorry, but I’ve kind of run away from here again. Partially because as I’ve mentioned before, I’m trying to get my niche going on here, and partly because I haven’t had the time to do a serious blog entry. However, I was directed to a book meme over here, so I decided I should post it here.

source
1. What’s your favorite time of day to read?
I don’t have one, so maybe that’s part of the reason I’ve fallen out it.

2. Do you read during breakfast? (Assuming you eat breakfast.)
Nope. I’ve tried, but I don’t like sitting at a table and reading, and much less, I don’t like sitting in the kitchen chair for reading.

3. What’s your favorite breakfast food? (Noting that breakfast foods can be eaten any time of day.)
Bagels or homemade breads or cinnamon/orange rolls or scrambled eggs/omelets/quiche.

4. How many hours a day would you say you read?
Not nearly enough.

5. Do you read more or less now than you did, say, 10 years ago?
Less; I didn’t have a full time job then.

6. Do you consider yourself a speed reader?
No, but I’m not slow either.

7. If you could have any superpower, what would it be?
Make things work out.

8. Do you carry a book with you everywhere you go?
Sometimes.

9. What KIND of book?
Whatever I’m reading; which I’m sure some people would think is nuts right now because I have been taking my Ordinary Heroes with me.

10. How old were you when you got your first library card?
Uhh, I want to say 3rd or 4th grade because I’m pretty sure I knew cursive.

11. What’s the oldest book you have in your collection? (Oldest physical copy? Longest in the collection? Oldest copyright?)
In the collection, I want to say. . .maybe a Nancy Drew book? I don’t know what books are in the basement, so I really don’t know my collection right now. Oldest copyright I’m pretty sure is The Clue of the Rusty Key by Carolyn Keene: copyright 1942. Wouldn’t that also be oldest physical? Unless we go off of original copyright, then Anne of Green Gables which was first published in 1908 I believe, though my copy was copyrighted in 1986.

12. Do you read in bed?
I have.

13. Do you write in your books?
Rarely. Ordinary Heroes has highlighting. That’s the extent.

14. If you had one piece of advice to a new reader, what would it be?
Don’t try to read above your reading level and try different genres, different authors before deciding what you do and don’t like. Don’t start with a classic.

Leave a Reply

Verso

The Artwork of Amanda Leigh Coe

Booking Through Thursday

A weekly meme about (mostly) books and reading.

Jo In the Kitchen

Groovin' in the kitchen, dancin' in Missoula.

Life Tastes Like Food

A blog about food, life, and all of the wonderful happenings in between

